A Grandparent’s Influence

Fahrenheit 451 Quote:  “‘Grandfather’s been dead all these years, but if you lifted my skull, by God, in the convolutions of my brain you’d find the big ridges of his thumbprint.  He touched me.'”  Page 159

By Ctrozzolo (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

By Ctrozzolo (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Nonfiction Connection:  Brhel, Rita.  “The Vital Importance of the Grandparent-Grandchild Bond.”  The Attached Family, n.p.  31 Jul 2013.  1 April 2015.

Brhel begins with the claim that many people are involved in a child’s upbringing includes fathers and grandparents.  She goes on to inform the reader that “mothers have long since been the focus…the role of secondary attachments cannot be ignored.”  All attachments, no matter parent-child or grandparent-grandchild, shape the child’s perspective and idea of relationships.  Grandparents have a critical role in a child’s upbringing despite whether or not the child lives with the grandparent.  However, the grandparents that have the most influence on their grandchildren are the grandparents whose grandchildren are “in high risk situations.”  They are able to give “normalcy in relationships.”  Even in situations where the mother is depressed, the bond between a grandparent and grandchild can decrease the likelihood of depression as an adult for the grandchild.  The elements of a strong bond grandparent and grandchild include:  “a sense of emotional closeness”, “having regular contact”, and “a source of social support.”   Anyone can make an affect on someone’s personality.  “Anger-prone people…can infect themselves with calmness by spending time with mellower individuals.”  Brhel finishes by claiming that grandparents also:  “provide children with a sense of safety and protection”, a link to hertiage, and a companion in adventures.  (Brhel)

When I had initially read the excerpt, memories of my great-grandma surfaced.  She had died just before my sophomore year began, and she has influenced my life in the fifteen years that I knew her.  Granger had said in the chapter that if you lifted his skull, you could see the thumbprint of his grandfather.  Grandparents, as Brhel claims, have a heavy influence on children through their perspectives of relationships, personality, and adventure.  Granger is an example that grandparents do more than just that, they influence what you do.  His grandfather had introduced books to him, something that is of high importance in his life.  In my example, my Grandma Strode influenced me through what I want to be like as I age.  She had a bit of a Southern accent, something I wish to acquire, with a lot of stubbornness to compliment it.  Grandparents, or even great-grandparents are people we never forget.

3 thoughts on “A Grandparent’s Influence

  1. It makes a good quote with good diction but if you can relate then it means just that much more. I think that we all can and should learn from our elders. I liked the last paragraph, it really works with the quote and means something.

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed reading your post and being able to empathize with it. The quote and all of your information is very relatable. Very unique and interesting post!

    Like

  3. This post is very meaningful to me. My grandparents have had a strong influence on me, and I agree with everything you say here. Good post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

