Tandoor

Chapters 14-20: Tandoor

637608719_3a9a7af2c4_o

Collins, Erin. “Chapati!” Flickr. 24 February 2007. Digital Image. 20 April 2016.

Tandoor refers to a variety of ovens, the most common is made of clay and used for baking and cooking. (Tandoor). “They can be large, permanent structures ensconced in a kitchen or outdoor area, or they can be smaller, portable ovens that can be carried from place to place.” (Christensen). The heat for a tandoor is commonly generated by a charcoal fire or wood fire, burning inside of the Tandoor, giving the food an original smoky taste. (Administrator). “The tandoor is used for cooking in Southern, Central, and Western Asia.” (Tandoor). The most famous and widely made dish produced from a Tandoor is known as Tandoori, which is a chicken prepared with spices and yogurt. (Sanghvi and Food). Tandoori usually takes around a day to prepare since it has to marinate in it’s respective spices and yogurt. (Recipe).

I chose to research this topic because the word caught my eye and is used multiple times on page 205 in The Kite Runner and when I found out it was involved with food, I had to research more. I found this topic worthy of investigation because in the novel it never states exactly what a tandoor is and finding out that they are ovens of a sort, it connects to all the food mentioned in the book. Mentioned in the book, Hassan as a grown man is seen cooking in a Tandoor outside, which startled me because I was not aware they were outside cooking appliances but I soon found out that their involvement with fire, and I found it interesting that people cook in them.

Leave a comment