Espand

Peganum harmala, also known espand or isfand, are seeds used the Middle East for getting rid of the evil eye. The seeds originate from a flower with various colors that only reach a couple inches off of the ground. The seeds are placed in a pan with red, hot charcoal and begin to pop like popcorn. The smoked is wafted over the victims head while prayers are said. This tradition is often practiced by Christians, Muslims, and even Jews.image

I chose this topic because I read it and I didn’t know what this was. It is cool to see what other cultures practice and it is important for us to understand them.

One thought on “Espand

  1. Ryan, what caught by attention in your post is the beautiful picture that accompanies it. I fought your research very interesting, and agree that it is important to learn about traditions that we may not practice. Even as a Christian myself, I did not know that there are Christian religions that practice this. I would like to find out which denominations practice this. It would also be interesting to find out more about the flower itself, such as what causes the seeds to pop? Overall, great and very interesting post.

    Like

Leave a comment